OSGeo Board Thanks the Organizers of the FOSS4G 2013 Nottingham Event

The OSGeo Board would like to thank all of the FOSS4G 2013 Nottingham local committee for an impressive and successful event. Led by the hard-working chair Steven Feldman, the organizers hosted over 800 attendees through more than 20 hands-on workshops and 9 concurrent presentation tracks. Their theme “Geo for All” really highlighted the passion for Open Source geospatial around the world in so many different disciplines.

The local committee recently submitted a substantial financial surplus back directly to the OSGeo foundation. Members of the OSGeo Board are very thankful for this generous contribution to the foundation and to the Open Source geospatial community.

Steven Feldman says, “I am delighted that we have been able to make a substantial contribution to the OSGeo Foundation and the FOSS4G 2013 team look forward to celebrating the successes that the OSGeo Community will be able to generate with this funding.

Jeff McKenna, OSGeo’s President, says, “We thank Steven and the entire local committee for such hard volunteer work, sacrificing months of their career to put on a stellar international event. Their passion for Open Source geospatial was felt by people from all across the globe. They are the FOSS4G Heroes of 2013.

About OSGeo

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation has been created to support and build the highest-quality Open Source geospatial software. The foundation’s goal is to encourage the use and collaborative development of community-led projects, data development and education.

About FOSS4G

FOSS4G, Free and Open Source Software for Geospatial, is the international gathering of Open Source, geospatial tribes. The spatial industry is undergoing rapid innovations and the Open Source spatial community is one of the forces driving the change. From its beginnings the FOSS4G conference has been the gathering of the spatial tribes and has a reputation of being a melting pot for great ideas in the spatial industry and a catalyst for many successful geospatial products, standards and protocols.

The FOSS4G 2013 Local Organising Committee members were: Jo Cook and Jeremy Morley (vice-chairs), Abi Page, Addy Pope, Antony Scott, Barend Kobben, Barry Rowlingson, Claire Gilmour, Franz-Josef Behr, Ian Edwards, Ian Holt, Kenneth Field, Mark Iliffe, Matt Walker, Rollo Home and Suchith Anand

Look for the next FOSS4G 2014 to be held in Portland, Oregon, U.S. in September.

OSGeo Sponsors

View all sponsors