Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software – Call for Nominations

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for the 2022 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software.

The Sol Katz Award for Free and Open Source Software for Geospatial (FOSS4G) will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the FOSS4G community. Recipients of the award will have contributed significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals in the geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of FOSS4G and left behind a large body of work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early FOSS4G archive provided both source code and applications freely available to the community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, but his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol’s family’s request, can do so at .

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to solkatzaward at lists dot osgeo dot org with a description of the reasons for this nomination (after sending, please wait for the moderator to accept your message). Nominations will be accepted until end-of-day July 8th Anywhere on Earth. A recipient will be decided from the nomination list by the OSGeo selection committee.

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software will be announced virtually during the FOSS4G 2022 event in Florence, Italy. The hope is that the award will both acknowledge the work of community members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for years to come.

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members are not eligible.

Past Awardees:

2021: Malena Libman
2020: Anita Graser
2019: Even Rouault
2018: Astrid Emde
2017: Andrea Aime
2016: Jeff McKenna
2015: Maria Brovelli
2014: Gary Sherman
2013: Arnulf Christl
2012: Venkatesh Raghavan
2011: Martin Davis
2010: Helena Mitasova
2009: Daniel Morissette
2008: Paul Ramsey
2007: Steve Lime
2006: Markus Neteler
2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee 2022:

  • Jeff McKenna (chair)
  • Frank Warmerdam
  • Markus Neteler
  • Steve Lime
  • Paul Ramsey
  • Sophia Parafina
  • Daniel Morissette
  • Helena Mitasova
  • Martin Davis
  • Venkatesh Raghavan
  • Arnulf Christl
  • Gary Sherman
  • Maria Brovelli
  • Andrea Aime
  • Astrid Emde
  • Even Rouault
  • Anita Graser
  • Ariel Anthieni

OSGeo Sponsors

View all sponsors